Hugo Sadok
  • Ph.D. Student

  • Computer Science Department, Carnegie Mellon University

  • Office: 5113 Gates & Hillman Centers

I am a fourth-year PhD student in Computer Science at CMU advised by Prof. Justine Sherry and part of the SNAP Lab. My research interests are broadly in computer networks and computer systems.

Prior to CMU, I received a BS in Electronic and Computer Engineering and an MS in Electrical Engineering, both from UFRJ.

Recent News

  • SurgeProtector accepted to SIGCOMM ‘22! May 2022.
  • KOPI accepted to HotOS ‘21! April 2021.
  • Pigasus accepted to OSDI ‘20! August 2020.
  • AuditBox accepted to NSDI ‘21! June 2020.


conference and workshop
Automatic Generation of Network Function Accelerators Using Component-Based Synthesis, ACM SOSR, 2022
Francisco Pereira, Gonçalo Matos, Hugo Sadok, Daehyeok Kim, Ruben Martins, Justine Sherry, Fernando Ramos, Luis Pedrosa
SurgeProtector: Mitigating Temporal Algorithmic Complexity Attacks using Adversarial Scheduling, ACM SIGCOMM, 2022
Nirav Atre, Hugo Sadok, Erica Chiang, Weina Wang, Justine Sherry
bib code paper video (press: cylab)
We Need Kernel Interposition over the Network Dataplane, HotOS, 2021
Hugo Sadok, Zhipeng Zhao, Valerie Choung, Nirav Atre, Daniel S. Berger, James C. Hoe, Aurojit Panda, Justine Sherry
Don't Yank My Chain: Auditable NF Service Chaining, USENIX NSDI, 2021
Guyue Liu, Hugo Sadok, Anne Kohlbrenner, Bryan Parno, Vyas Sekar, Justine Sherry
Achieving 100Gbps Intrusion Prevention on a Single Server, USENIX OSDI, 2020
Zhipeng Zhao, Hugo Sadok, Nirav Atre, James C. Hoe, Vyas Sekar, Justine Sherry
A Case for Spraying Packets in Software Middleboxes, ACM HotNets, 2018
Hugo Sadok, Miguel Elias M. Campista, Luís Henrique M. K. Costa
Stateful DRF: Considering the Past in a Multi-Resource Allocation, IEEE Transactions on Computers, 2021
Hugo Sadok, Miguel Elias M. Campista, Luís Henrique M. K. Costa
Building an IaaS Cloud with Droplets: a Collaborative Experience with OpenStack, Journal of Network and Computer Applications, 2018
Rodrigo S. Couto, Hugo Sadok, Pedro Cruz, Felipe F. Silva, Tatiana Sciammarella, Miguel Elias M. Campista, Luís Henrique M. K. Costa, Pedro B. Velloso, Marcelo G. Rubinstein